You are here

OCC Governing Board

Board Composition and Responsibilities

By law, the bipartisan board is made up of nine members, three each representing residential consumers, organized labor and family farmers. These board members are appointed by the Ohio Attorney General for a term of three years. They are confirmed by the Ohio Senate.

The board conducts regular public meetings in Columbus, usually at OCC's office in the Capitol Square building at 65 East State Street, 7th Floor. Meetings are conducted under the Open Meeting Law.

2019 Board Meeting Schedule

January 15 notice minutes
March 19 notice minutes
May 21 notice minutes
July 16 notice minutes
August 28 (Special Meeting) notice minutes
September 17 notice minutes
November 19 notice minutes

2018 Board Meeting Schedule

January 16 notice minutes
March 20 notice minutes
May 15 notice minutes
July 17 notice minutes
September 11 notice minutes
November 20 notice minutes

Archived Governing Board Minutes

Governing Board Resolutions

Current Governing Board Members

If you would like to write to any of the OCC Governing Board members, you may send correspondence to the Ohio Consumers' Counsel, 65 East State Street, 7th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-4213, or e-mail your correspondence to:

Photo of Michael Watkins

Michael Watkins, Chair

Chair, 2017 - present
Vice-Chair, 2015 – 2017
Board member, 2010 – 2020
Representing organized labor
Hometown: Elida

Michael Watkins has served as a member of the Fraternal Order of Police (“FOP”), Lima Lodge No. 21 since 1976 when he began his career as a police officer in Lima, Ohio. He retired as an active law enforcement officer in 1999. He served six terms as president of FOP Lima Lodge No. 21 and currently serves as the recording secretary.  Since 2003 he has been employed by the FOP, Ohio Labor Council Inc. in Columbus, Ohio as an Administrative Assistant. Mr. Watkins was trustee of the FOP’s 6th district from 1993-1995 and has served in that position again since 2007.

photo of Fred Yoder

Stuart Young, Vice-Chair

Vice-Chair, 2017 – present
Board member, 2012 – 2021
Representing family farmers
Hometown: Springfield

Stuart Young is a third-generation dairy farmer. He is an owner and manager of Young’s Jersey Dairy Inc. in Yellow Springs, Ohio, where he is responsible for managing the farm operation, Jersey herd and cheese production. He has also served on the Hustead Volunteer Fire Department for 36 years. He previously served the Clark County Farm Bureau on the Board of Directors and as President. He has served on The Ohio Farm Bureau’s State Policy Development committee as a delegate. He is a lifelong member of the American Jersey Cattle Association and the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association.

photo of Timoth Callion Available Soon

Timothy Callion

Board member, 2019 - 2022
Representing organized labor
Hometown: Warren

Bio Coming Soon

photo of Cheryl Grossman Available Soon

Cheryl Grossman

Board member, 2019 - 2020
Representing residential consumers
Hometown: Grove City

Bio Coming Soon

Photo of Kelly Moore

Kelly C. Moore

Board member, 2015 – 2021
Representing residential consumers
Hometown: Newark

Kelly Moore is the corporate Vice President of GKM Auto Parts, Inc., an independent jobber of NAPA Auto Parts. A member of the National Federation of lndependent Business/ Ohio (NFIB), Mrs. Moore serves as a member of the group’s Ohio Leadership Council. She serves on various committees, including the Workers Compensation committee and the Legislative committee. She is the former Chair and Vice Chair of the Zanesville NFIB Area Action Council. In addition, Mrs. Moore is the Chairperson of the NFIB/OH PAC.

photo of Charles Newman

Charles Newman

Board member, 2019 - 2022
Representing family farmers
Hometown: Peebles

Charles Newman owns and operates a 700 acre beef cattle and grain farm in Adams County, Ohio. The family farm actively practices conservation and is GAP certified (good agricultural practices). He also has served as the Scott Township Fiscal Officer for the past 19 years and has been a member of the Adams Rural Electric Cooperative Board of Trustees for 14 years. He has received recognition for achieving a Director Gold Certificate, a Board Leadership Certificate and a Credentialed Cooperative Director Certificate from the NRECA. Additionally, Mr. Newman served for 10 years on the Board of Directors of the Adams County Regional Medical Center.

photo of Jan Shannon Available Soon

Jan Shannon

Board member, 2019 - 2022
Representing residential consumers
Hometown: Orient

Bio Coming Soon

photo of Andra Troyer

Andra Troyer

Board member 2017 – 2020
Representing family farmers
Hometown: London

Andra Troyer, along with her husband and son Jared, manage RLT Farms, a 1,600-acre farm that specializes in growing corn and soybeans. For 12 years Ms. Troyer served as the Southwest Regional State Trustee for Ohio Farm Bureau, representing 20 counties regarding state and national issues that affect rural and urban America. As a trustee, she provided guidance on daily operations and budgets. Ms. Troyer served as a Board Member on the Ohio State University’s C. William Swank Advisory Board, dealing with rural and urban interface issues. She also served in several advisory positions for Madison County, including Farm Bureau President, Chairman of the Madison County Soil and Water Conservation District, and Board Member for the Madison County Chamber of Commerce. Ms. Troyer currently serves on the Lake Choctaw Water Quality Committee. Ms. Troyer also works for the National Agricultural Statistics Service.

photo of David J. Wondolowski

David J. Wondolowski

Board member, 2017 – 2021
Representing organized labor
Hometown: Broadview Heights

David J. Wondolowski is a labor leader that has served as Executive Secretary of The Cleveland Building and Construction Trades Council since 2013, which represents all of the building trades unions and over 10,000 highly skilled employees in Northeast Ohio. Additionally, Mr. Wondolowski serves on the Cleveland/Cuyahoga County Workforce Investment Board. He is Vice President of the United Labor Agency, a member of the Cuyahoga County Board of Elections, an Executive Board member for the North Shore AFL-CIO, and a member of the NOACXs Business Advisory Committee. Mr. Wondolowski also holds membership with the Greater Cleveland Partnership (GCP), where he is a Board member of their Commission on Economic Inclusion, and an Executive Board member of the Construction, Diversity, and Inclusion Committee. Formerly, Mr. Wondolowski served on Broadview Heights City Council from 2003-2007 and was a member of the Ohio Public Works Commission.