Office of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel

OCC Governing Board

Board Composition and Responsibilities

By law, the bipartisan board is made up of nine members, three each representing residential consumers, organized labor and family farmers. These board members are appointed by the Ohio Attorney General for a term of three years. They are confirmed by the Ohio Senate.

The board conducts regular public meetings in Columbus, usually at OCC's office on the 18th floor in the One Columbus building (10 West Broad Street, Suite 1800). Meetings are conducted under the Open Meeting Law.

2017 Board Meeting Schedule

January 10 notice minutes
March 21 notice minutes
May 9 notice minutes
July 18 notice minutes
September 12 notice minutes
November 21 notice minutes

Archived Meeting Minutes and Agendas

Current Governing Board Members

If you would like to write to any of the OCC Governing Board members, you may send correspondence to the Ohio Consumers' Counsel, 10 West Broad Street, 18th Floor, Columbus, Ohio 43215-3485, or e-mail your correspondence to:

photo of Michael WatkinsMichael Watkins, vice-chair

Vice-Chair, 2015 – present
Board member, 2010
 – 2017 
Representing organized labor 
Hometown: Elida

Michael Watkins has served as a member of the Fraternal Order of Police (“FOP”), Lima Lodge No. 21 since 1976 when he began his career as a police officer in Lima, Ohio. He retired as an active law enforcement officer in 1999. He currently is serving his sixth term as president of FOP Lima Lodge No. 21. Since 2003 he has been employed by the FOP, Ohio Labor Council Inc. in Columbus, Ohio, as an Administrative Assistant. Mr. Watkins was trustee of the FOP’s 6th district from 1993-1995 and has served in that position again since 2007.

photo of Fred Cooke

Fred Cooke

Board member, 2013 – 2019
Representing family farmers
Hometown: Shelby

Fred Cooke runs a 1,200-acre farm with his son, Charlie, in Shelby, Ohio. He worked for 30 years as an educator teaching agriculture at Greene County Vocational School, Willard High School and Shelby Senior High School, in addition to teaching various courses at Southern State College in Wilmington. In recognition of his commitment to education and preserving farm land, he was awarded the Outstanding Educator of the Year and the Outstanding Soil and Water Conservationist award by the Richland Soil and Water Conservation District. He is a 30-year member of the Richland County Farm Bureau.

photo of Sally A. HughesSally A. Hughes

Board member, 2011 – 2017
Representing residential consumers
Hometown: Columbus

Sally Hughes has served as president and chief executive officer of Caster Connection, Inc., a business founded upon the solid principle of “providing ergonomic caster and wheel solutions to decrease injuries in the workplace.” Her multi-million dollar company serves thousands of companies throughout the U.S., Canada, Mexico and Europe. Ms. Hughes currently serves on the Board of the Ohio Chamber of Commerce and is a member of the Entrepreneurs’ Organization, Women’s Presidents Organization Platinum Group, Women’s Business Enterprise National Council and National Association of Women Business Owners. She is on the Board of The Wellington School, Enterprising Women Magazine Advisory Board and the Women’s Leadership Network Advisory Council for Otterbein University. Ms. Hughes recently received recognition as 2016 SBA Business Person of the Year from the SBA for the State of Ohio and 2016 Enterprising Women of the Year Award winner.

Photo Available Soon

Kelly C. Moore

Board member, 2015 – 2018
Representing residential consumers
Hometown: Newark

Kelly Moore is the corporate vice-president of GKM Auto Parts, Inc., an independent jobber of NAPA Auto Parts. A member of the National Federation of Independent Business/Ohio (NFIB), Mrs. Moore serves as a member of the group’s Ohio Leadership Council. She serves on various committees, including the Workers Compensation committee and the Young Entrepreneur Foundation Scholarship committee. She is the former chair and vice chair of the Zanesville NFIB Area Action Council. In addition, Mrs. Moore is a member of the West Lafayette Chamber of Commerce.

photo of Roland Taylor

Roland "Butch" Taylor

Board member, 2013 – 2019
Representing organized labor
Hometown: Stow

Roland “Butch” Taylor has served as a member of Plumbers and Pipefitters Local 396 since 1992 and as Business Manager since 2010. He previously served Local 396 as Union President, Executive Board Member and Business Agent. Mr. Taylor has been involved in Pathways to Building Trades, a grant that exposes students to careers as plumbers, electricians, carpenters and other skilled trades. Mr. Taylor also serves on the Boards of Leadership of the Mahoning Valley, Youngstown/Warren Regional Chamber and Chamber of Commerce. He was honored as the Regional Chamber’s Labor Leader of the Year in 2012.

photo of David J. WondolowskiDavid J. Wondolowski

Board member, 2017 – 2018
Representing organized labor
Hometown: Broadview Heights

Bio Available Soon

photo of Fred YoderFred Yoder

Board member, 2011 – 2017
Representing family farmers
Hometown: Plain City

Fred Yoder is the owner and operator of Fred Yoder Farms in Plain City, Ohio. He also is a partner and Chairman with Yoder Ag Services, LLC, a retail seed and consulting company. Mr. Yoder currently serves as a member of the Trump Agriculture Advisory Committee; the AGree Advisory Council and their Risk Management Task Force; the Ohio Corn and Wheat Growers Association; and is a director of the 25 x ’25 Alliance, which is part of the Solutions from the Land LLC. He also serves as the Chair of the North American Climate Smart Agriculture Alliance, promoting adaptation to a changing climate while reducing agriculture’s carbon footprint. He was recognized by the White House as a Champion for Change in 2013, and he was inducted into the Ohio Agricultural Hall of Fame in 2011.

photo of Fred YoderStuart Young

Board member, 2012 – 2018
Representing family farmers
Hometown: Springfield

Stuart Young is a third-generation dairy farmer. He is an owner and manager of Young’s Jersey Dairy Inc. in Yellow Springs, Ohio, where he is responsible for managing the farm operation, Jersey herd and cheese production. He has also served on the Hustead Volunteer Fire Department for 35 years. He previously served the Clark County Farm Bureau on the Board of Directors and as President. He has served as a member of the Ohio Cattlemen’s Association, the Ohio Angus Association and The Ohio Farm Bureau’s State Policy Development Committee as a delegate. He is a lifelong member of the American Jersey Cattle Association. 


Information believed accurate but not guaranteed.
For information about our privacy policy and copyright, visit our Legal Disclaimer page.
The Office of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel is an equal opportunity employer and provider of services.
Office of the Ohio Consumers' Counsel - Your Residential Utility Consumer Advocate OCC Seal Home En Español Search Ask Utility Questions Action Alerts